The Board of Taxation

The Board of Taxation is a non-statutory advisory body charged with contributing a business and broader community perspective to improving the design of taxation laws and their operation.

The Board is tasked with advising the Treasurer on improving the general integrity and functioning of the taxation system and commissioning research and other studies on tax matters approved or referred to it by the Treasurer.

The Board currently comprises of 11 members, eight of whom have been appointed from the non-government sector. There are three ex officio members — the Secretary to the Australian Treasury, the Commissioner of Taxation and the First Parliamentary Counsel.

The operations of the Board are governed by its Charter.

The Board of Taxation is supported by a Secretariat provided by the Treasury.

Details of the Board's current projects are available in Current Activities.